Exude Hope

Tile Design 2March 2, 2014.  6:10 a.m.; to the east, pink hint to mostly blue sky; to the west, grey sky and maybe more rain.
The last two days, we’ve had torrential rainstorms, but long-drought California needs the rain.

Staying home I resumed my clutter-clearing.  I want to simplify my life believing I will have more energy, and believing I will have more control over my life.  And I do have control over what I keep and what I let go of.   I found this quote on another blog:

Whatever you are not changing, you are choosing.” ~ Laurie Buchanan

There was a moment of truth when I first read this quote.  Yes!  I’m in control.   But, then a bit of reality creeped in:  I wouldn’t choose health issues, or being around someone with health issues and that is my life right now.  And my mind jumps to marriage and loyalty and family and those are all choices too.   But, here was another quote by Laurie:

“my heroes exude hope — a belief in a positive outcome”

I live with a hero!

I’m not sure if I qualify.  My mind jumps ahead to all the What Ifs?  My mind jumps ahead to the worse case scenarios.  I refuse helpless, I refuse being unprepared.

So I find solace in clutter-clearing, a process of letting go. And a process of organizing.  I’ve written about organizing in my blog each January/February for the past few years.  I’ve read and re-read this book:  Clear Your Clutter with Feng Shui  by Karen Kingston at least three times.  Karen gets very systematic on giving away or throwing away stuff that has lost meaning or relevance.  For me, the process has taken on a more determined force.

For example:  I had three shoe boxes of greeting cards given to me over the years; cards for birthdays, Christmas, baby, thanks or hello, etc.    Karen Kingston’s advice:  “save the best and get rid of the rest”.   My mantra became “save the best and get rid of the rest.”

But I did take a detour on this one.  At Christmas I took old Christmas cards and cut them into strips and made paper chains for decoration .  For the baby shower coming up, I have taken most of the old boy baby cards and cut them up and made a paper chain decoration.  (The pastel blue and neutrals are actually quite lovely.)   And I feel surrounded by the good energy of all those givers who sent those cards.  I see bits of my father’s handwriting, or mother, uncle, aunt, grandmother, friend….this turned out to be a powerful force field.

Chain Christmas

Chain BabyAlthough I haven’t gotten rid of  all the cards yet, I did recycle them to a new use: a powerful force field.  I didn’t expect this.

I think my favorite chapter in Karen Kingston’s book, is how to systematically let go of books. This chapter is for the book lover who treasures books almost above all else.   Here’s what she advises:  “Begin with cookbooks you’ve never used…move on to textbooks and reference books you haven’t touched in years, children’s books you or yours have outgrown, novels you weren’t interested enough to begin or finish, books with theories you don’t agree with….and on.”

Note:  7:37 a.m., the rain has returned and it’s another downpour.  I’m glad I caught that patch of pink sky at 6:10 a.m.)

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Exude Hope

  1. robin says:

    I was so moved by your blog this morning. You, too are a determined hero, Linda.
    Thank you for sharing.

    • Hi Robin, I often don’t know what I am going to write about until I sit at my computer.  I know that I don’t feel like a hero…but there is something about not quitting when it gets tough.  Thanks for commenting. 

  2. I love it when rain forces us to look inward. We discover so many things! :-)

  3. Rain does have a way of doing that…the pitter-patter, the cold, wanting to stay indoors.

  4. JSD says:

    Thanks for the tips on clearing clutter, especially books. :)

    • Books have been especially hard for me to give away but I’ve taken a few boxes to the friends of the library for the library to sell and help with their extra expenses.  That has made it easier.

Leave a Reply

