Lantern Magic – “Carnation, Lily, Lily, Rose”

Are you familiar with this painting by John Singer Sargent titled Carnation, Lily, Lily, Rose (oil on canvas, 1885-86)?Carnation Lily Lily Rose by John Singer SargeantAutumn, twilight, setting sun, fragrant flowers, multi-colored white dresses, children lighting lanterns…my mind escapes into this image and I can almost smell those intoxicating lilies.
A few years ago, in my effort to learn painting techniques, I started a study of this painting.  Here’s as far as I got with the underpainting, along with the notes I wrote on the backside of the paper:

LR study of Sargeant's Carnation LL RoseI’m giving these to you small.LR study notes to Sargeant CLLRose

The theme of lanterns at evening gatherings showed up in the paintings of many other artists.

 

Here’s a few more to feast your eyes and maybe set your mind to wandering in that warm glow.

Luther vangorter 1895Luther Van Gorter 1895

Julio Vila Prades - La ni_a de la LamparaJulio Vila Prades  La ni a de la lampara
Warwick Goble from The Star LoversWarwick Goble from The Star Lovers

To further my escape I spent a few minutes one night last week setting up a few lighted candles in metal lanterns  and placing them near my white rose-bush (Iceberg Rose) now in full bloom.  Here’s my best photos:
100_2477 100_2475When an idea enters my mind, of something I want to try, I play out the idea.  These photos were one of those experimental moments.  Enjoy!

And here’s one more lantern painting:

Percy Gibbs - River Promenade 1918-19Percy Gibbs “River Promenade”

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lantern Magic – “Carnation, Lily, Lily, Rose”

  1. marilynscottwaters says:

    Wonderful things! Thanks for the inspiration. I love lanterns and have been working on a paper model for a while. For more ideas check out http://www.welfare-state.org/ They are a British group that promotes lantern parades. Hugs, M

  2. Hi M,
    I look forward to seeing your paper lantern in a future newsletter. Thanks for the link, I will check them out. LR

Leave a Reply

