Where This Artist Finds Inspiration

Julio Vila Prades - La ni_a de la LamparaMy last few Posts may give you a clue where I am presently finding inspiration:  lantern light, Midsummer’s Eve, something magical in the air….and I am working out painting ideas with sketches and drawings.  Before I actually begin painting, I want six to eight drawings worked out and then when I do begin painting I can let my mind become absorbed in the world of colors and mood and light and shadows.

My artistic life has been a zig-zag trail with one of my muses beckoning me to follow down her path for a while before another muse takes her place.   Sometimes, I wish I could stay on a straight path…

BUT, one thing I have learned over the past multi-decades is NOT TO QUESTION my creative process.

Here’s an image for inspiration that is one of my favorite.  I own this image as a greeting card.    By Edward Robert Hughes, may I present Midsummer Eve:

Edward Robert Hughes - Midsummer EveA nd a quote:

“Fancies are like shadows…you can’t cage them,
they’re such wayward, dancing things.”
~L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Avonlea

My muse is helping me to dance and I want to dance!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Find joy today.  LR

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where This Artist Finds Inspiration

  1. marilynscottwaters says:

    Linda! Lovely Picture, Lovely Quote and Lovely Spot On Blog post. “The heart wants what the heart wants.” Paint day soon! M

    • Marilyn  – Yes!  a paint day soon would be great.  What about at the Mission or the historic Los Rios District?  Both places are picturesque.  Any other suggestions?  LR

  2. Never doubt your muse. Mine has taught me that she usually knows where she’s going. I’m the one that gets in her way. ;-)

Leave a Reply

