Think Big

“The ability to think big is to know that all great things start small.” ~ unknown ~ and I will continue the quote with BE PATIENT, grow your vision, and develop the necessary skills.

Peonies with White Flower

Back in my early art days I had a burning desire to paint the human figure.  In my imagination, I developed a mentorship with Michelangelo: reading, studying his work, writing, painting.  My canvases kept getting bigger.  And now my journey moves to the smaller, with a different vision, but with more clarity.

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Think Big

  1. Marilyn says:

    Lovely flowers. Your thoughts on growing your art skills is so true. You have to be extremely patient and forgiving with your work in order to get anywhere. I cringe when I think about drawing that I have done in the past, especially portraits.

    I was giggling with my niece about this. She’s fifteen, an artist and has a good eye. Her peers are always telling her that she has a “gift” like her hours of practice had nothing to do with her drawings.

    Draw on!

    Marilyn.

    • I enjoyed your response, Marilyn. I cringe at some of my earlier work also. It has taken dedication, practice, and keeping it a priority each day, in order to grow as an artist. But what a rewarding journey….

  2. Beautiful flowers! Beautiful vision. I like hearing about big shifts like yours. I have not been drawing long enough to notice anything like that.

  3. robin ward says:

    This idea of starting off small really speaks to me, as well as your reminder that to be an artist, (and a writer) one must practice the craft every day.
    I love your flower water colors and the whimsical doodles inspired by other painters. So cheerful. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

