More Sketch Play

I’ve started a new sketchbook, titled Sketch Play,  and I am seeking inspiration from other artists as my own skills evolve.   My day begins and ends with art, reading or writing.   And when I wake in the night, instead of fighting it, I get up and usually paint or read.   In opposition to play, I am presently reading John Steinbeck’s  The Grapes of Wrath.   Reading as a writer, I take notes of how he reveals his characters and, I will say, he is a master of character and gives each one psychological and emotional depth.  Wow!

PS.  Today’s sketch play images were inspired by SCBWI illustrators and a greeting card artist named Dena.  SCBWI stands for Society of Children Books Writers and Illustrators.

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Sketch Play

  1. catherine says:

    Love the chickens and the orange tabby with the balloon! Whimsical and playful!

  2. Marilyn says:

    Art is play! Love it!

    MSW

  3. Wait, reading isn’t playing?? No one told me that! Ha ha! 🙂

    • I think my title mislead. My sketches of the past year are playful. But some of my earlier art work was not. Reading is pleasurable but can be work. And for me writing is a struggle but getting easier.

Leave a Reply

