More Story Starts

Blogging is helping me to organize my thoughts so here are the rest of the novels and stories I have started:

1.   “Greek Honey” – 35 pages written; mystery/romance genre; political backdrop.  This novel came to a dead-end although I like two scenes that I wrote.   The research was interesting.  I picked the year 1974 and gathered facts from there.  Characters were beginning to emerge but I was in over my head on this story.

2.  “Poppy’s Cottage”  – 30 pages written; middle grade novel with a story-within-a-story journal revealing the life of one of the characters. Genre: adventure/family.                     The adult characters were amazing clear in my head and on paper.  I heard dialogue!  However, the children protagonists were not revealing themselves to me.  The journal part of the novel was heavily researched and the main story had an outline and many details figured out.    Someday, I want to continue with this story.  I’m collecting photos and images to help me see the kids more clearly as characters.

3.  “Flight to Freedom: an Art Tale about Rebirth” – This is Story One of a three-part trilogy of short tales.  Highly symbolic with abstract imagery, I don’t know what genre it would fit into.    For easy summary, Part One represents  the rebirth of creativity.  Part Two represents the Golden Age, and Part Three the decline to death.  I’ve completed Story One.  Story Two is somewhat outlined, Story Three has a folder that I throw reference materials into.    This is definitely a work in progress.

4.  “Angel in Danny’s Backyard”:  Picture book story for a young child dealing with the death of his mother.  Definitely for a very limited market.  I finished the story and someday I want to paint the artwork.

5.  Other short stories for children…to be continued.

6.  Poetry…to be continued.

 

 

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More Story Starts

  1. Wow! And I thought my hard drive was loaded! For #2, you should keep playing with that because you can hear the dialogue. The story and the characters will come to you if you keep listening. That’s how my novel started – First I saw the main character and then I heard him having a conversation with another character that revealed himself much later. The conversation I heard is still in the novel three drafts later!

    Your #3 sounds like it could be a fascinating piece of literature. I hope you keep working on that.

    🙂

    • I’m beginning to realize that I am a writer! Luckily, I have keep notes and boxes of research, so I hope I can pick up where I left off. I will need to immerce my mind in the story when I decide what to work on.

    • I’m on my work computer nowand decided to respond again to your comment. I enjoy hearing the process of how your novel developed. I’m curious: what genre is your story? What audience?It is impressive that you are working on the third draft. How close to finished are you? About my stories, I think I will begin with #2 when I’m ready to get serious. The tales trilogy #3 is close to my heart, so I will continue with that one.

  2. Marilyn says:

    It’s good to have a list. Write a little every chance you get. I have a hard time writing with so much stuff going on here but you have inspired me to write more, even if it’s just a few sentances a day.

    Hugs, M

    • Hey, Marilyn, I am glad I can inspire others. Just like the art, writing needs daily practice, You have stories in you. Just make sure to capture the ideas daily and when life opens up you have the seeds ready to sprout. Best wishes for your upcoming show!!!!!!

  3. Pingback: Alaskan Adventure – another story start | wings of wonder

Leave a Reply

