Drawing Process No. 1

When it comes to drawing I use every tool I can to get my idea on paper.  The five attached images represent the following:

  1.  Three dimensional object:  bunny
  2.  Free hand drawings:  The box outlines helped with scale and moving the object gave different views.
  3. Another free hand drawing, another view.
  4. Tracing paper with lead pencil transfer:  There was a step before this one–I xeroxed the 2. and 3. drawings and reduced some of them in size thinking foreground, middle ground and background variations.  I traced from the xerox images and arranged a composition.  On the backside of the tracing paper, I used the side of a lead pencil.  Then I transferred  the image on to watercolor paper.
  5. Watercolor of bunny composition: used Arches 140 lb. paper and Winsor Newton watercolor travel sets.

Advice:  be patient! Drawing takes focus and close observation of the object. 

Note:  I did not share my first set of drawings which were distorted and out-of-proportion.

 

 

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
Gallery | This entry was posted in Illustrations. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Drawing Process No. 1

  1. JSD says:

    Thank you for a lovely post. I need a boost like this to get me back to doing things that I used to do back in the Stone Ages. 🙂

    • Glad my post helped to motivate. I find great satisfaction, joy, internal peace in hands-on creation. The Stone Ages sounds so very long ago…I hope you will re-discover that part of yourself.

  2. Wenona says:

    I love seeing the process, Linda. And your watercolor is delightful!

    Wen

  3. Marilyn says:

    I love this. It is so helpful to see how people work.

    Draw on! M

  4. Oh, wow. What a fascinating process. I had no idea a drawing went through so many phases. Thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

