Blog Awards

Several weeks ago I received nomination for some blog awards.  I would like to thank tbnranch, http://tbnranch.wordpress.com , for sending me these awards.  I am honored!  I also want to thank tbnranch for your stories about Beamer.  They make me laugh. 

In order to officially show these awards on my site, there are several steps to acceptance: sharing seven random facts about myself, giving recognition to the sender, passing the awards along. 

Seven random facts about me

1)  Life –  Thanksgiving dinner is my favorite meal of the year to cook.

2)  Art  – The elements of art (line, color, shape, light, shadow, composition, texture)  are part of how my mind thinks, becoming a visual, emotional language.

3)  Adventure –  My first day in England involved a murder, newspaper reporters, and flamenco dancing in the Soho District of London.

4)  Writing  – lots of unfinished projects, but I do have something to say, so I continue to drag words out-of-myself and it’s getting easier!!

5)  Time – I am feeling the pressure of TIME:  out-of-time, windows of time, timeless, down time. 

6)  Inspiration – Some of the things that have helped in the past include:  illustrations and art of William Blake; movie soundtracks (instrumental) Chocolat, Frida, Nowhere in Africa;  music CDs (usually instrumental) Vespertine by Bjork, Enya, Peter Gabriel, Ravi Shankar and others; foreign films.

7) I have a fear of heights, particularly driving on hills, the angle of descent.    

Passing the Award to Five More Bloggers, check these out:

http://thetoymaker.com   Enter the world of paper toys to amuse and delight.

http://janettakahashi.com   She takes sketchbook journaling to an art-filled level with illustrations and beautiful calligraphy.

http://thepaintedpage.wordpress.com  Four very talented children’s book illustrators with unique styles that inspire.

http://undercoversurfer.wordpress.com    She likes the pre-dawn hours and writes wonderful nostalgic posts that take me back in time.

http://cbwentworth.wordpress.com  I escape to this writer’s blog whenever I get a chance and always find encouragement, informative posts, and vicarious pleasure in the  retelling of her adventures.

In order to pick up the awards, you must do the following:

  • Thank and link to the person who nominates you.
  • Share seven random facts about yourself.
  • Pass the award to five more blogger friends.
  • Contact and congratulate the blogs nominated.

Thanks again to tbnranch for thinking of me and sending a message of encouragement my way.

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blog Awards

  1. Marilyn says:

    Thanks for the shout out, Linda! I like your music choices. I’ll have to check out the soundtrack to Frieda.

    I feel that Time pressure too. Seize the day!

    M

    • The Toymaker deserves major kudos- I love getting your newletter, and visiting your journal for updates, love all the inspirational quotes, and, of course, the art!
      Frida’s good and also soundtrack to The Piano. Certain songs resonate…and my imagination soars.

  2. Double Congratulations! Your blog is so deserving of these awards! 🙂

    Ooo, your adventure in England has me intrigued . . . do tell!

    Thank you for passing these awards to me . . . I received them recently from another blogger, but its always such an honor to receive the same recognition. Many thanks! 🙂

    • I know you’ve gotten awards but had to mentioned your blog, because I am inspired, and I do escape for a few moments. I was 18 when I visited England, stayed with an aunt who was stationed there (US Airforce nurse), and we went to a pub in Amersham, The King’s Arms, and it was swarming with newspaper reporters because of a murder. That night a reporter showed my friend and I the London sites, and we saw a flamenco show in a small resturant, and ate Calamari for the first time.

  3. JSD says:

    Congratulations to you!! And to be honored by you…Wow! When I look at the class of bloggers that you put me with, I am speechless. Thank you, Linda, you’re an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

