Test of Time

In art, painting, the question arises on whether a work can stand the test of time.  In relation to materials, it is best to always use the highest quality: professional grade paints, acid free papers, properly prepared canvases, etc.   It can also relate to the time-tested techniques and rules for application of paints.  Or the universal subject that continues to speak to generation after generation.  
When I critique my own paintings, the emotional response that I have, or don’t have, over time, has become my TEST of TIME.    In my opinion, only a few of my paintings transcend mediocrity.  Only a few continue to excite years later.   Here I share one of those few. 

 

"Elan Vital" by LR

 

 

This oil painting, Elan Vital, 1992 was inspired by a small black and white newspaper advertisement.  Back then, my imagination was on fire with a desire to paint the human figure.  I remember the struggle to paint the face of the child.  Wiping off the paint half-a-dozen times, trying to get the features to look like a child’s face, experimenting with the complementary colors of blue and orange, adding white to the cheeks and bones to mold the form.   And I remember the struggles I experienced on a personal level as a mother raising three children.  The painting of the picture became so much more than brush to canvas: a part of my spirit remains, my soul is in that painting and that is why it still has the power to excite, even in all its imperfections.

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Test of Time

  1. robin says:

    Linda, this painting has always held beauty and mystery for me. There is a light and warmth that seems to emanate from the darkness. As a viewer, I can say it has truly withstood the test of time. You have me thinking about what other things, works, personal attributes, relationships have withstood the test in my own life. A good thing to ponder… thanks.

  2. This is a beautiful painting! I love the tenderness between mother and child. 🙂

    It’s very interesting to see how you critique your own work. As an outsider with very little ability in painting, it’s enlightening to see how a painter sees their work.

    • Thanks!This remains one of my favorite.Luckily, I've kept notes and written about some of my paintings…where the ideas came from, techniques, emotional state, color mixing etc.If I ever finish my memoir, it will include artist's notes and focus on my artistic development.Still in the back of my mind….along with so many other projects.

Leave a Reply

