Girl With a Mirror

 “Human beings, by changing the inner attitudes of their minds, can change the outer aspects of their lives.” ~William James (1842-1910)  

…..and my views on this quote:  YES, this quote is true BUT from my experience, Patience is the key.  Change of attitudes, like education, takes time and this means maintaining belief in oneself, in what you are doing.  Don’t Give Up. 

"Girl With A Mirror" by LR

 Transition from watercolors to oils, I painted “Girl With a Mirror” with thin washes of oil paint thinned with turpentine.  Monochromatic using Burnt Umber, Burnt Sienna, White, and Alizarin crimson.

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Girl With a Mirror

  1. JSD says:

    She has such beautiful skin tone. Love it!

    • It’s been awhile since I painted this girl. If I remember correctly, the underpainting is watercolor and then I built oil glazes on top. Keeping the oil colors thin allowed the watercolor to show through. Believe it or not, the skin tone was trial and error. But I am proud of the results. Thanks for commenting.

  2. Wow! That painting is spectacular and very powerful. 🙂

    How we perceive ourselves on the outside is so closely aligned with how we feel on the inside. As I get older, I’ve noticed a pattern. On day where I feel down, I hate what I see in the mirror. On days when I’m content and joyous, my mirror is not an enemy. Thankfully, I find myself with a smile the vast majority of the time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

