Re-invent: It’s not over yet!

"Fire Storm" - Journey of the Horses by LR

Tonight I needed a strong visual to help me begin writing.  I’ve sat at my computer for at least 45 minutes, staring at a blank screen, and nothing would come out.  Maybe this is a self-induced block (See Blocks to Creativity and Blocks to Creativity – Loss of Momentum). 

Thumbing through a book of quotes, I read this discouraging message: 

“There will come a time when you believe everything is finished.  That will be the beginning.” ~Louis L’Amour    

I took this to mean “the beginning of the end, life is over, the cup is 3/4 full”.   Those were my thoughts during the day.  HOWEVER, as I reread this quote now, I see a completely different perspective as pertains to writing:  “when you believe everything is finished” then the revision begins and the writing expands and deepens.  Wow, what a positive spin!Here’s a big warning:  Keep a guard at your gate to keep those dark demons of discouragement away.

Albert Einstein had this to say:  “There are only two ways to live your life.  One is as though nothing is a miracle.  The other is as though everything is a miracle.”           Choice:  to choose to see everything as a miracle…I’m adding this to my Joy Mantra Philosophy.

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Re-invent: It’s not over yet!

  1. JSD says:

    Wonderful thoughts to keep in mind. And I love the picture!

  2. robin says:

    Linda, your painting of the journey of the horses brought tears to my eyes. It is beautiful and terrible, (terrible as in terrifying), and the image goes along well with your words of caution: Keep a guard at your gate to keep those dark demons of discouragement away. Love it!

    • I think I captured some emotions – fear, danger, escape, survival. Gives the painting power. Journey of the Horses is a metaphor for life, my life, my creative life. I’m glad it has the power to move….to cause a reaction in the viewer. Welcome back!!

  3. I love that Einstein quote – thanks so much for posting that! 🙂 I choose to see everything as a miracle as well.

    Don’t let Blank Page Syndrome get you. Sometimes you just have to start writing even if its nonsense. Somewhere in the mess, the path will become clear. 🙂

    I am in love with the painting you’ve posted. Truly, a beautiful piece.

    • The miracle quote does bring up the idea of choice – even in choosing how one sees the world. Even in challenges, life has positive to offer, at least, this has been my experience. I’m glad you like my painting. Now I’m trying to rewrite the story that goes with the paintings.

  4. Marilyn says:

    Keep showing up to the page. Even if you get a few measly lines on paper, a couple of ddodles or three sentences that is better than not moving forward. Recharge and fill your brain with new things. You are on a roll, girlfriend. Keep the amazing work coming!

Leave a Reply

