Alaskan Adventure – another story start

No, I haven’t been to Alaska, but I grew up on stories of family members going there.  My father spent time in the early 1950’s mining platinum at Good News Bay, Alaska.  During that season, March through November, my father and mother courted and exchanged letters.  My great-aunt Mary, at the age of 60, flew across the North Pole in 1965.   My grandmother, way back in 1923, visited her brother in Nome, Alaska when she graduated from high school.  Her brother had gone to Nome during the gold rush years at the turn of the century.  I remembered comments from past family gatherings, but I’m thankful for the time my father and I had together before he passed away, me asking questions and he telling me the stories.  I have the letters, the flight certificate, two hand-carved walrus tusk napkin rings, and a photo of my grandmother dressed in a caribou skin coat and fur boots. 

Several years ago, I started a novel that included a story-within-a-story of the oldest character’s time spent in Alaska.  I researched heavily and wrote, maybe, forty pages.   I must have a writer in me somewhere; I keep starting novels.  Here are some past posts of my writing projects:  Writing-“Journey of the Horses” ; More Story Starts ; Memoir or Not? ; Writing Redemption ; Ahania – a Poem .  Now the big question for 2012: Where will I concentrate my energy so I can finish a novel?  I realize only I can answer this, so I will revisit my ideas and see what gets stirred up.    My interest in Alaska also resulted in some art.  Enjoy!

 

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
Gallery | This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Alaskan Adventure – another story start

  1. JSD says:

    What you have is such a treasure!! I look forward to reading all of them.
    I’ve been fortunate enough to have a lot of our family’s oral history, tons of old photographs, documents, and other items. I thought to write a novel of growing up in rural Ontario in the late 1800s then homesteading in Alberta pre-WW1…didn’t have the foggiest idea where to begin. Short of that, I started a family history blog that I write to share this information with all of the distant relatives. It’s much easier on my brain and confidence.
    And it led me to starting the Undercover Surfer where I bumped into you. 🙂

    • I’ve created some photo journals identifying the people in photographs and events, including geneology. This will make it easier to pass on. I still have boxes to go through. Along with a cousin, we’ve been the self-appointed family historians. It does take time, though, which there’s never enough of.

  2. robin says:

    Wow, I didn’t know about all that family connection to Alaska! I love your painting and drawing, Linda–really beautiful. Looking forward to seeing where your writing takes you in the year to come.

  3. Sartenada says:

    I have not been in Alaska, but maybe someday…

    I have made car trip

    Beyond the Arctic Circle1.

    It has 14 parts and it seems that people generally do not know what there is to find.

    Happy travel!

Leave a Reply

