Quality of One’s Thoughts

Recently, one of my sister-friends shared her list of inspirational quotes that she keeps by her desk.  I want to pass on a couple of those and add a few of my own.

“Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those
who matter don’t mind.” ~ Theodore Seuss Giesel

“We rise to great heights by a winding staircase.” ~ Francis Bacon

“Victory is won not in miles but in inches.
Win a little now, hold your ground, and later, win a little more.”
~Louis L’Amour

Quotes by Louis L’Amour showed up several times on my friend’s list.  I’d heard the name before but needed to research who this guy was.  Turns out he is famous for writing mostly western novels.  Here’s a few more of his quotes:

“Start writing, no matter what. 
The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on.”
~Louis L’Amour

“The trail is the thing, not the end of the trail.
Travel too fast, and you miss all you are traveling for.”
~Louis L’Amour

“Up to a point a person’s life is shaped by environment, heredity, and changes in the world
about them.  Then there comes a time when it lies within their grasp to shape the clay of their life into the sort of thing they wish it to be.  Only the weak blame parents, their race, their times, lack of good fortune or the quirks of fate.  Everyone has the power to say,
‘This I am today.  That I shall be tomorrow.’ 
The wish, however, must be implemented by deeds.”
~Louis L’Amour

Quotes!  I’ve collected quotes for as long as I can remember and as I go through drawers or boxes around my house or office I re-discover some of them.  My goal was to create a book of art and images to carry with me to inspire and remind myself throughout the day. Here’s the covers of my first few attempts…back when I was nineteen years old.

Early Book Covers by LR

 

NOW, please share in the comment section some words that keep you inspired.  Thanks!

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Quality of One’s Thoughts

  1. JSD says:

    I’m also a collector of quotes…so many I could also fill a book, and I don’t have a favorite. Here’s one…
    “To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong.” (Joseph Pearse)

  2. Marilyn says:

    I love quotes too! One of my faves, “The road is better than the inn.” Cervantes. It’s similar to the Louis L’Amour quote. 🙂

    • You’ve put some great quotes on “The Toymaker”! Many have found their way into my collection. “The road is better than the inn” , I like that thought…the journey of the unknown BUT I also like the warmth of the inn too.

  3. Oh my gosh – if there’s such a thing as a quotophile – I’m that person. I love quotes. I’ve put them on my wall, on my laptop, into quilts, gathered in a notebook. They’re quick and inspirational. Uhm, let’s see, how about, “Don’t look a gift universe in the mouth.” – Chesterton. I like that the big wide universe is indeed a gift to all of us and do we appreciate it or inspect its teeth?

Leave a Reply

