Setting Goals

It’s always revealing to rediscover an old goal list in a file or under a stack of paper.  Some items reappeared year-after-year until I finally accomplished the goal, especially in the “A” stage of life.    ABCD and on and on, everything happens so fast now.    My A-Stage went on for years and years, and then something clicked inside and some struggles got easier.  From B-Stage onward, life sped up and I lost count. 

For years I’ve used this system for setting goals.  Imagine the pieces of a pie and each section represents a different aspect of life:  Health, Intellectual, Social, Financial, Spiritual, Career, Art and Writing, Environment.  Under each main heading go the “exercise, take a class, activities with family, pay debt etc.  Art and Writing used to be under Spiritual but now stand alone.  Environment  refers to my personal space.  Increasingly, my goals have gotten more specific and as any year progresses, the list adapts and changes. 

For example, top on my list for 2011 was to make handmade books using different binding techniques.  Then life sent the wedding to plan!  Last year’s list did NOT include writing the story that got published, or setting up a blog.  Those things were in the back of my mind, ruminating, but had not reached the numbered goal list.  The outpouring of creative energy towards the wedding actually fueled my fire and I had vision and focus.  Thank you! Thank you!  Renewed enthusiasm is soooooooooo welcomed!

The Environment category, newest to my list,  involves organization: cleaning out closets, going through boxes of papers, getting rid of clutter and more clutter.   At some point in the past five years, I reached information overload.  Couldn’t find anything, couldn’t make anything, my ideas had dried up, OR so I thought.   Environment moved to the top of the list, and now I spend January organizing with a vengeance.  My studio area and the garage are top on the list for this new year.

My goal list for 2012 is evolving and coming into focus and I will share more in future posts.  Wishing you a magical and awe-inspiring New Year!

Wishing you a magical and awe-inspiring New Year!

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Setting Goals

  1. robin says:

    Hearing your process is inspiring, Linda. And I love the Blue Horse and Child.
    Thanks, as always for sharing.
    A whimsical and magical New Year to you!!

  2. Marilyn says:

    My computer was down for a couple of days and I got so much cleaning and organization done.

    Now I feel as if I can get things done with more space available for being creative.

    Go 2012!

    Marilyn

Leave a Reply

