Workspace – Where I Create

I’m reorganizing my work spaces to make room for new ideas.  To help with my creative space at home I’m referring to the book, Where Women Create: Inspiring Work Spaces of Extraordinary Women, by Jo Packham.  Many of these women have turned their ideas into products, businesses, stores.   Reading the pages, dissecting the pictures, I’m ready to get serious and to redefine where I want to go this year and the next.  From the foreword of the book I quote:  “So whether you work from your kitchen table, a home studio, or a full-scale production facility, it comes down to one thing: you must make a choice to listen to and honor the creativity inside of you”.  I am ready to listen.

Question:  How do I create best? Visual and intuitive, I need to see my supplies out in the open. 

Next question:  Where to begin?  Gathering from around my house, I’ve filled glass jars with beads, buttons, rocks, sea glass, shells etc.   I’ve been filling gauze wine bags with light supplies like tinsel and hanging in the open.  Several bulletin boards, desk, work tables, are being arranged and rearranged to find what speaks best and loudest to me.  January is the main month to revamp my space, however, there has to be a system to keep control the rest of the year.   I’m working on that too! 

Ranging from a portable studio that only comes out several months a year to a fully designed professional business workplace, the women in the book have found ways to live a creative life.  Luckily right now, I have a separate space.  Divided into work stations, there’s one for paper/book binding, one for painting, one for writing, and one for crafting.  I’m ready to take my artistic ideas to another level.  Ideas are becoming product lines, supplies are at hand, the piles of papers are dwindling.  January is about organizing, but also about focusing, reinventing, and visualizing. 

Tile inspiration - Organized Pathways

 

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Workspace – Where I Create

  1. Kate Kresse says:

    you created such a powerful image with your description of glass jars, gauze wine bags, etc. I hope that you draw or paint some pictures of it :-). Happy creating in your studio !

  2. My workspaces are spread out all over the place. I have a room with a writing desk, but it also doubles as my craft/collectibles room. However, I do most of my crafting on the downstairs dining room table and most of my writing at the bookstore. I may have to take a cue from my neatnik self and figure out a better way to organize my workspace(s). 😉

    • As long as your spaces keep you working and producing no need to change. For me, I was spending more time looking for misplaced objects that completing new work. I knew I needed to make a major change.

  3. Lucia Raphael says:

    Excellent ideas!
    I have two friends who are trying to figure out how to organize all of their arts and crafts materials…. they will truly enjoy your input.

    Thank you ( :

  4. Marilyn says:

    Making space so magic can happen! I have to have to have order for the most part and keep everything in metal bins in the closet. I have all the drawers labeled, tape and glue, ink, cardstock, etc. Right now my studio is an unholy mess because I shipping out my show tomorrow. Then I’ll do a big tidy. I think the key is to do what works for you and makes it easy to get down to business. 🙂

  5. tbnranch says:

    I love organizing work spaces! It creates fresh new ideas for me.

  6. Elizabeth says:

    It’s so important to have that dedicated work space – I have one tiny table and one wall in our apartment and I guard it with my life! If my husband puts anything on the table or it gets used for anything else I always take it off…creative spaces need an element of the sacred to truly be useful for art that comes from the soul instead of just the mind in my opinion! PS: your illustrations are lovely!

Leave a Reply

