GOALS for 2012

Anyone following my blog knows my January goal: to revamp my space.  I want a creative place that inspires the minute I walk into it.  I realize for this to happen I need to see what I’m working on, and I need organization.  This first goal of the year will take more time than one month because the need to clear my foundation of excess, of piles, has grown from one room to multi-rooms and closets.  BUT, progress is being made.  NOW, enough of that goal.  February’s goal to “Post My Goals for 2012”  before the end of the month needs to get posted today. 

GOALS FOR 2012:
Writing Goals: (I want to be a better writer)
1.  to write more short stories with a beginning/middle/end, characters, and some action in 600 words.  Last August my  children’s short story, The Letter, was published in a newspaper.  Another story, Zoo Bear, has been accepted for March publication.  Wow, next month!  In 2012 I will continue to explore this writing format.                                       See:  ***News Bulletin*** and Where Do Stories Come From (The Letter).

LIFE CHANGES:  Since drafting this goal earlier this month, I have been informed that the newspaper is cutting back and will no longer print children’s stories.  So my story Zoo Bear will not be published at this time.

2.  Goal to continue developing my blog: sharing more writing, designing interesting posts, preparing a tutorial, share more art.
3.  I have several craft magazine articles (story and visuals) I’m ruminating on and hope to write and submit later this year.  Article One to be submitted to the magazine Where Women Create will be submitted when I have my space finished.  Article Two to be submitted to the magazine Somerset Life will be about the handcrafted items my daughter and I made for her wedding.

4.  Improve my writing by: Writing using active verbs instead of the linking verb “to be” (is, are, were, was etc.); write more. 
5.  To organize my Unfinished Writing Projects UWP.  I have several novels I’ve researched, a memoir on my views about art and writing, a short story trilogy…… all sitting in boxes or binders waiting, waiting.  Some days I want to throw it all away…but part of me says I will regret it. 

Reading Goals:
1.  I discussed my organization books:  Where Women Create, Writing Better Sentences, Real Simple.  See New Year Foundation 3 . 
3.  Working on a reading list for the year.  Here are some books in my pile:
 Hunger by Knut Hamsun – published 1890, Nobel Prize in Literature.  I’m not sure how this ended up on my shelf…somewhere, sometime, used book stand…this copy is from 1970 but it’s calling out to me to read. 
The Girl with Glass Feet by Ali Shaw – described as magical, received the Guardian First Book Award 2009.  A gift:  my daughter purchased it at a British bookstore in Thailand.
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson – a gift from my son #2.  I read the first two book several years ago.  I’m wondering if the main character is modelled after the Wiki Leaks founder.
I’ve read The Ultimate Doll Book and several others as I search for the identity of my little doll.  See previous posts:  Little Doll and Doll Identification Quest
My reading list grows and changes as the year grows and changes.

Other goals:
*to finish unfinished projects
*to walk more, eat better, focus on health

Now, I have committed my goals to paper.   Happy Leap Year!!!!!! 

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to GOALS for 2012

  1. Marilyn says:

    Keep calm and create on! These are great goals!

    Hugs, M

  2. Great goals! 🙂 Good luck and keep them close at hand so they can’t slip away!

Leave a Reply

