The Power of Focus

A week ago I received four books in the mail dealing with daunting subjects: taxation, risk management, finance, consumer protection.  I had a deadline looming!   I needed to read and pass tests on each book.  But going into last weekend my mind was bouncing around from one art idea to the next AND places to go, things to see, books to write, blog posts to send, people to talk to…………I had a major case of attention deficit.  I knew I needed to get all those ideas out of my head so I could focus on”The Daunting Task.”  

Miracle of miracles, I first began to draw out some of the ideas in my head.  Then I made lists of some of the To Do’s and To Want’s.  Through drawing and writing,  I effectively transferred all the noise in my head to safe places.  Now my mind was free to focus.

Foremost in my mind:  get “The Daunting Task” completed as quickly and as painlessly as possible.  I needed to focus.   Here’s how the week went.   Started Book One last Saturday (the shortest and most familiar one).  Read Book Two on Sunday.  Took Test No. 1 on Monday and passed.   Finished practice questions and took test No. 2 on Tuesday and passed.  Spent Tuesday and Wednesday reading Book Three (taxation…my head is spinning).   Took test No. 3 on Thursday and passed.  Read and practiced Book Four Thursday and Friday and before leaving work on Friday I took Test Four and passed.  Halleluiah! Halloo! 

I learned the power of focus!  And how I need to quiet my mind!   Also, it helps to have a deadline, and a purpose, and a clear plan of what needs to get done.  And from this task, I now believe that I can write my novel, I can accomplish my goals, my dreams.

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Power of Focus

  1. marilynscottwaters says:

    Linda, you are mighty! What a great piece. I think one of best and hardest things about being a creative person is the sheer amount of ideas that swirl around our brains. I too find it helpful to write lists and sort things onto piles.

  2. Kate Kresse says:

    WOW!!! Way to go getting through all of those books and tests so quickly! Brilliant! Looking forward to hearing about progress on your book, next!

  3. Kate Kresse says:

    the organizing is the thing i tend to procrastinate; then when i have the organizing done i say to myself, without fail, “why was i procrastinating that wasn’t so tough!” ha!

    • I completely agree! You’ve left so many comments, I’m not sure if I’ll be able to answer them all. I’m finding everything is easier once I jump in and just do it. Procrastination drains my energy.

Leave a Reply

