Choices

Left, right, up or down, around or through, life offers choices.  The choices may seem obvious but the impact of choices may last a very long time.  I have learned and acquired many skills and have no regrets on the choices I have made.  However,  I have reached a crossroads in my life. 

All of this “organizing” I’ve been involved in since the beginning of the year has forced, willingly forced, me to look at my life.  I’ve been going through a lifetime of papers saved, and making choices on what to keep and what to throw away.  As I have been finishing unfinished projects, I see the diversity of my interests over the years.  I have acquired many skills along the way in the areas of craft, art, writing, cooking, gardening, reading, and all the secretarial, office,  and business skills of my work world.  But, now, in the final third of my life, I need to focus.

This is an evolution.  I see more writing in my future.  Art will have its place, but my environment, having the visual energy around me, will satisfy more than the actual making of things.  

I know that I could be more specific, and I will be in the future, but for now here’s a finished sewing project, a sock bunny duo, that I started twenty years ago and finished in 2012.  All of the sewing was completed years ago, I only had to assembled the clothes on the sock bunny, and hand-sew the features of the face. 

Sock Bunny, mom and baby

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Choices

  1. marilynscottwaters says:

    Happy Easter, Linda!

    Eagerly awaiting what wonderful things you write and make next,

    MSW

  2. tbnranch says:

    I love the bunny!

  3. robin says:

    I am thinking a lot about choices these days, too. Thanks for sharing, as always, Linda.
    Cute bunny, and how great that you completed something you’d started so long ago.
    Happy Easter!

  4. Happy Easter! 🙂

    What a cute bunny! I’m glad you finished it. The beauty of craft projects is that they wait for us to find our inspiration, even if it takes years. 🙂

    Everything you’ve done up to this point is what made you who you are. Treasure every step and embrace the next stop on your path.

Leave a Reply

