Novel: Groundwork

My muse has been after me for a while, telling me to write, although I’ve resisted listening.  My last post, So You Want to Write A Novel?, represents my beginning attempt to simplify into a plan of action, the baby steps to building a manuscript.  The outline will expand as my knowledge expands.

Here’s what I learned this week:  Point of View.  Specifically the point of view I will write in will be Third Person, Subjective aka Limited, Past Tense.  I won’t try to explain what that means but here are two websites with invaluable information and explanations.
www.novel-writing-help.com  and http://thedarksalon.blogspot.com/2009/04/story-elements-checklist.html

Here’s how the outline is growing.
Outline:  I. Groundwork (brainstorm stage of writing)
                    A.  Plot: Story ideas, scene ideas, audience, genre, themes,
                          who, what, when, where and why – whatever comes to mind.

                    B.  Characters: WHO, hero/heroine, villains, bullies.  Brainstorm for ideas
                           from your own life, books/movies/plays, characters you love and hate; age,
                           name ideas – whatever comes to mind. 

                     C.  Setting:  WHERE will the story take place?  Brainstorm: names, land,
                                             towns, buildings, streets, where will scenes take place, 
                                             time period – whatever comes to mind. 
                                             Develop a visual in my mind and then follow with photos.
                    D.  Point of View:  First person or third person, limited or omniscient,
                          Past or Present – got to know the Point of View before starting to
                          write.  I’ll be writing in:  Third Person, Subjective aka Limited,
                          Past Tense
 

I’m not sure how long this Groundwork Stage will take.  I want to have lots of ideas to draw from so that when I move on to Outline II.  Foundation  I’ll be prepared to write a plot outline, character profiles and a setting profile. 
For a breather, here’s some art to share:  LR Sketch Play.

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Novel: Groundwork

  1. marilynscottwaters says:

    Sounds like a good plan. I’ve been reading and listening to a lot of talks by Stephen King and Neil Gaiman. They both offer a lot of good advice on writing, the most important being to just write,

    • Thanks for the recommendation on Neil Gaiman. I listened to Part 1 of a Library televised talk that he did and have checked out his website. I also have one of his books, Stardust, on my bookshef although I still need to read it.

      • marilynscottwaters says:

        I haven’t read Stardust, but I’ve seen the movie. My favorite book by Gaiman is “The Graveyard Book” which is as perfect a story as I have ever read. I’ve completely everything that I’ve read by him so far.

        Send me the link to the library talk when you get a chance. I’d love to see it. 🙂

      • Here’s the link: http://atyourlibrary.org/culture/evening-neil-gaiman There’s two parts to his interview. I haven’t read “The Graveyard Book”, but I’ll check it out.

  2. Groundwork takes time, but I have learned not to let it take over the project as a whole. Planning is always a good idea, but also remember to leave room for the story to move and grow as your write it. 🙂

    • I’ve attempted to write without an outline and I get to about page 40 and can’t go on. So I think the planning will help me have an overview of the whole. I also, realize I didn’t understand POV and the role of the narrator. This is huge!!

  3. robin says:

    I like to feel my way through some of the rules–experimenting with point of view, reading what I’ve written out loud, sensing when it is off or when I’ve gotten it right, leaving it awhile and coming back to it with new eyes and ears. Your entries on novel writing and on your approach is stimulating and energizing!

Leave a Reply

