Novel Update: Author VS. Main Character

I, the Author, want to write a third person-past tense-story with a narrator guiding things along, a story that taps into the pollyannish ideals of childhood adventures and wonder.  I’ve been searching for the voice of my main character, a girl around 12-ish.  The problem I am running into is that the Main Character keeps talking in first person and she has attitude and anger bubbling under the surface.    I’m still figuring out if it’s the same story or a completely different story that wants to be told.  Any advice from other writers?

Groundwork stage still moving forward and I am continuing to explore my past experiences for story nuggets.    Pulling up the past, moving from California to New York to Colorado back to California locale #1, #2 and finally settling in locale #3 for ages nine to twenty-one, is an interesting process.  My five years in Colorado were rich in childhood adventures and still so vivid in my mind.  We moved when I was ready to enter third grade, age eight.  Maybe I’ve answered my own question:  for my ideal story the main character has to be younger.    To be continued….

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Novel Update: Author VS. Main Character

  1. marilynscottwaters says:

    Maybe try some rewrites in different tenses. And your protagonist could have anger and attitude as well as sense of wonder… it would make her more real. Write on! M

    • It’s a mystery where this will all lead, even though I think I’m in control. I do agree with your idea, the character will be a blend and the story will be more interesting and real.

  2. I’ve always found its more important to let the character speak first. Let her tell you what her story is instead of trying to tell her where you want her to go. Try free writing with that attitude that keeps bubbling up and see where it takes you. 🙂

    • I am trying. All the groundwork I’ve been doing and looking at my own past is bringing up memories I haven’t thought about in a long time. I’ve been free writing and it does help. I’m not giving up but the writing will take much longer than expected while my character figures things out.

Leave a Reply

