Unfinished Project – Bookbinding

 Unfinished project, NOW finished!  I love an old book and this one had my name written inside in my childhood handwriting.  Back then, I claimed ownership to this book from my great-aunt, although she probably gave it to the family to share.  I remember reading this book to my children with surprised delight.    Now the Arabian Nights, 1935 edition, sorely needed repair.  I had to give this book new life.

There are great websites with demonstrations on the internet.  They explore traditional bookbinding and coptic binding which is an open spine technique.  I also purchased bookbinding kits from Mimi Halo at Plickity Plunk Press.  I had the opportunity to meet with her and have a quick explanation of the process before venturing forth on my own.

Loot at these endpapers to this edition of Arabian Nights.  I would guess that the original painting was completed in oils.

Classic, old, vintage, antique, I get a special fluttering inside.  Some people would have thrown this broken book in the trash.  I saved it!

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Unfinished Project – Bookbinding

  1. marilynscottwaters says:

    That’s so cool. One more book, and a lovely one at that, saved. = win!

  2. Wow! That is gorgeous both in appearance and how you saved it! 🙂

  3. How wonderful to save an antique book from the trash! I love old books and have inherited quite a few from my grandfather. I did minor book repairs at my children’s elementary school many years ago, but I would hesitate to do anything to an old book without talking to an expert, like you did. You did a marvelous job and a beautiful book! 🙂

  4. megtraveling says:

    This was definitely a book worth saving – it’s beautiful!

  5. robincoyle says:

    I own that very same book! It is in a little better shape from what you had, but not by much.

    I found you because of CB Wentworth. How cool it that!?

Leave a Reply

