2012 Blog Update: Mid-Year

Good Morning!  The year’s wings fly fast and furious, I can’t believe it’s the middle of July.  I woke up with blog thoughts on my mind.     I started out the year with major organization tasks and the goal to create a space that inspires daily creativity (See Archives January and February).   I’ve revisited my interest in dolls, after rescuing an old doll.   Worked on developing the craft of writing and moving some of my writing projects forward.   Shared writing exercises from FruitFlesh…explored how to organize a novel…and posted art and illustrations and quotes to delight and inspire my readers.   For inspiration, I’ve shared floral photographs (see First Rose and A Rose Twice as Sweet).   There’s also been some blog awards and thank-you’s.  When I look back, I HAVE MADE PROGRESS, although in the present I feel like I am just struggling along.  Do you ever feel time that way?

Painting small patterns of color, I’ve begun a new sketchbook called Sketch Patterns of small tile designs.  Patterns are everywhere and I encourage you to explore your home and draw and paint these simple designs. See Posts called Sketch Play and Take Joy for other sketchbook illustrations.

When I draw and paint the world, my mind notices the details.  Not only is this a great skill for an artist, it’s also invaluable for a writer.         I call myself “a Creative” because I have both interests, art and writing, and so many others.   Free time is limited, but I do honor creative time every day, I just need to rotate what I do.    This pattern of living leaves unfinished projects.  In 2012, I have completed a few of these. 

I’ve highlighted the major themes for this year.  If you look down the Blog Post List you can read more about your specific interests.   Enjoy!

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2012 Blog Update: Mid-Year

  1. You’ve been mighty productive! I’ve enjoyed every post this year and I’m looking forward to more. 🙂

    • Thanks! My muse drives me to create and sometimes she’s a demon in disguise and my day feels lacking if I don’t do something, produce something, and she makes me conscious that time is ticking and eventually it will run out, so there is that pressure too.

  2. What a busy creative bee you are! Good luck creating more beauty in the coming months to round out the year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

