“I used everything you gave me.”

I ran across this quote by Erma Bombeck: 

“When I stand before God at the end of my life,  I would hope that I would have not a single bit of talent left and could say, ‘I used everything you gave me’.”

Don’t worry, it’s not the end of my life but on reflection, let’s talk about talent.   There’s the creative expression that pushes and insists on being expressed.  Could be in the form of art, writing, music, design, dance…you name it.   

Then there are all the life challenges that force a person to dig deeper, often with resistance, to find new reserves of problem solving and discipline.  These reserves come from the warehouse of dormant, undiscovered talents.  As hard as it may be, give thanks for the challenges.   Those undiscovered talents that rise to the surface from adversity, are gifts.  The human will to survive is a most powerful source. 

Sink or swim – I’d rather swim.

I visited The Irvine Museum yesterday and fell in love with art, AGAIN.   My mind goes into this analysis mode: where’s the path of light, use of grayed colors, brushstrokes follow the form, underpainting visible, center of focus, texture, horizon line, subject, color palette, details…..  Here’s my favorite painting from the show:

Mid-Winter, Coronado By Louis Betts (1873-1961),circa 1907, oil on canvas, 29×24

Enjoy!

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “I used everything you gave me.”

  1. That is a lovely painting and a wonderful post. Glad to hear that you are rejuvenated in your love for art. Your work is an inspiration. ❤

    • The show is at the Joan Irvine Smith Museum in Irvine. California Impressionist works including many landscapes which are restful but I’m pulled to the figurative paintings.

  2. What a lovely painting! 🙂

  3. megtraveling says:

    It’s a beautiful painting, and so interesting to see how people used to dress up to go to the beach!

Leave a Reply

