Gift for You and Me!

“Peony” by Linda Ruddy

 

This is my favorite watercolor post this year!!!!!!!!  So, I am re-sending it to you and also to myself.  I want to feel the flutter of surprise, the JOY energy.
August has been a very busy month: houseguest, Pageant of the Masters, and small get-a-way.  I spent the weekend at Lake Tahoe and I’m still soaking in the beauty, the scents, the glitter of light on the aspen leaves.  I sat each day on a bench among tall pine trees, took two-mile hikes, listened to the bird sounds.  I have lots of pictures but need to save the downloading and framing for the weekend.
I’ve been volunteering as a make-up artist at the Pageant of the Masters  during August which keeps me out each night.  It’s only a two-week committment but after working, it makes for a long day.  I wrote about the Pageant last summer.  Here’s the link:  Pageant of the Masters.  I am pulled back each summer to help with this show not only because it breaks the routine of daily living but, more importantly, I am part of something bigger than myself. 

Here’s a quote:
“Congratulate yourselves if you have done something strange and extravagant and broken the monotony of a decorous age.” ~Ralph Waldo Emerson 

 

 

 

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Gift for You and Me!

  1. Kate Kresse says:

    i love this one oh so much. not just the flower—but how it looks on that particular paper…..so lovely. glad you got to get away to Tahoe! I’ve never been there, but hear it is absolutely breathtaking.

  2. Sounds like you had a lovely get-away. Peonies were one of my mother’s favorite flowers. Whenever I see then I remember her. 🙂

  3. So bright and beautiful!!! 🙂

  4. What a lovely present. Thank you! And Congratulations!

    Can’t wait to see Tahoe picts, MSW

  5. tbnranch says:

    Lovely, you’re always so inspiring.

  6. Kate Kresse says:

    my parents had gorgeous peony bushes when we lived in MN. your photo reminds me of the vases of peonies my mom would have on the dining room table. That made me smile, and I wanted to give you the Sunshine Award. http://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2012/08/29/ive-got-sunshine-award/

    • Hi Kate, Thanks for giving me the Sunshine Award. I’m behind on my blogging but will try to come see it and what I need to do over the weekend. Thank you for thinking of wings of wonder. I am happy that it gave you fond memories of your parents!!

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

