Art: Wonder Trails

I think I’ve mentioned that I am a member of SCBWI, The Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.   Here’s their web address:  www.scbwi.org .  In America, they have two big conferences a year, one in New York in the winter, and one in Los Angeles in the summer. They are also an international organization with chapters in many countries around the world. 

 Throughout the year there are support groups and workshops and many ways to meet editors and agents and published authors and many people on the road to becoming published.  When I first joined all I could think about was the illustration.  Art was my driving force.   I did not see myself as a writer back then.   

Now, I ‘m moving closer and closer to the writing.  Once I get my first novel written I may start calling myself a writer.  Writing is hard!  I’ve been seriously studying the CRAFT of Writing for ten years and I know I am slow, but I also take things inside and digest and mold and manipulate and look at different angles SO I’m not making any judgments about how long this is taking.  There’s also life and work and family and only so much free time. 

Whether is was learning the craft of illustration or the craft of writing, both take dedication and non-stopping belief.  And you’ve got to put your work out into the world.  I do have a small pile of  ‘Rejection Letters’ but I also have two publication credits to my name. 

The following illustration I’ve titled “Wonder Trails”.  I actually did this for an SCBWI challenge…maybe back in  2006…not sure.  The original is 12″ x 16″, acrylic on paper.  If you go to the SCBWI website (www.scbwi.org) and click on Search for Members,then the Illustrators Gallery Button, Go to “R” and click on Linda Ruddy, you can see more of my work.

Wonder Trails by Linda Ruddy

Enjoy!

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Art: Wonder Trails

  1. Kate Kresse says:

    oh wow—that takes me back to when my son would play Peter Pan all over the neighborhood-pirates, tiger lily the indian princess, captain hook and his scurvy mates were always in attendance.

  2. I love how your piece truly captures the wonder of a child’s imagination! 🙂

    • I was trying to capture that. The first month of summer my kids and friends would gather all the wood, rope, nails, they could find and build a tower/fort in our backyard. Wonder and heaven and purpose and sheer joy as they worked together. Wish life could be like that all the time….. But I did capture some of that…

      ________________________________

  3. Cindy says:

    Linda, love that illustration! Magical! Keep up the good work regardless of the time it takes–it’s the process. xo

    • Magical is a very nice compliment…I was searching for the magic and trying to recover past feelings from past experiences. Do you see any resemblance in the children?

      ________________________________

  4. JSD says:

    I checked out the web site…love your work!!!

Leave a Reply

