Tahoe Inspiration

I’ve been out-of-town but didn’t want too much time to go by before posting something…..

Tahoe rocks and feathersTahoe WildflowersTahoe TrailLake Tahoe Adventure – August 2012. 
I walked this trail to the lake each day, three days to be exact, and the roundtrip was about two miles.   I’d stop to sit on a bench placed among the trees and one day I painted these wildflowers.  The scent of pine was strong and delicious.  I heard Steller Jays squawking in the early morning and other birds later in the day.   Along the trail I collected the feathers and on the beach I found the rocks.  I did jot down notes in my journal….to write something more vivid and exciting…but the time was meditative, so maybe I have captured those moments.    Enjoy!

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tahoe Inspiration

  1. marilynscottwaters says:

    Take joy = yes! Love the leaves!

    M

  2. I just love your sketches! Beautiful! 🙂

  3. robincoyle says:

    Guess where I am right now. Tahoe!

  4. tbnranch says:

    Wow! You amaze me every time I visit here.

  5. Nature definitely has a way of replenishing the body and soul. Anytime I walk alone on a beach, I find some of the most amazing stones and rocks that my pockets become quite heavy! I love your sketches. If I could draw as well as you, I’m sure I would enjoy recreating the living things I see around me, too. 🙂

    • The drawing is easier than it seems…especially organic shapes that don’t have to be perfect. I actually traced around the leaves and then left white for the veins when I filled in with green paint. The flowers are simple shapes put together to make a whole. I think drawing is about slowing down the mind, focusing on the smaller shapes, and copying what you see. I start thin with the paint and work up to a deeper shade. This gives me time to make color choices. Give it a try! And, yes nature replenishes my body and soul too…even just a little, so I try to notice nature every day….

      ________________________________

  6. The wildflower studies are fresh and beautiful! they make me want to take a few hours off from a remodeling project and go paint a few wildflowers!
    z

Leave a Reply

