My version of Na No Wri Mo

Have you heard of the National Novel Writing Month challenge?  The goal and purpose are to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.  It’s about quantity over quality: get the words on the page.   According to the Wikipedia article, the draft of the novel  Water for Elephants was written this way.  Google the article for more details.

Na No Wri No’s Math:  50,000 words divided by 30 days = 1667 words per day.

The official NA NO WR MO has specific rules and check-ins to keep you accountable, the official month is November, and all the writing is supposed to be new, although you can have research and an outline to reference.   Now, that’s a lot of words to write and my concern is “how do you write that many words every day if you have limited time, maybe an hour, or two if I wake at 5 a.m,  a day…………….”

For several years now I’ve thought about this challenge and on both conscious and subconscious levels I have planned for my novel month challenge.  Planning for “How I could make this happen!”   And, I’ve fought all those doubtful thoughts.  You know, the thoughts that say can’t, couldn’t, shouldn’t.

First: My Challenge.          I will not officially sign up for Na No Wri Mo.  Forget November, that’s  family, turkey, and pumpkin pie month.    This year, my challenge month will be October.

Second: Organization.       I’ve come up with 30 Chapter Titles so each day has a pre-determined theme.  This means I HAVE PREPARED.   I am starting with an overview sense of the whole book.  This means I’ve plotted, and worked on characters, on setting, on conflicts.  And, I’ve been typing up my notes, getting ideas back in the forefront of my mind.

Third: Word Count.         I will not stress about word count.   If I write 25,000 words in 30 days I will feel successful in this first novel attempt.

My Word Count Committment:  25,000 words in 30 days = 833 words per day

Fourth: Accountable.  I will write daily and I will blog weekly during the month of October and tell You what my word count is for the week.

I encourage you to take up the challenge!!

Please be patient.  During the month of October as I focus on writing, I may not be able to visit other sites.  This is something I’ve got to do.  If you want to send encouragement, please hit the “Like” button found under my Word Count Posts at www.wingsofwonder.wordpress.com .  I’ve also been working on the Subject “Cloud” on my blog site so I invite you to visit and see if any of the TAG headings interest you.  There’s also lots of art to see on my site.

PS.  I haven’t figured out the technical difficulties yet.

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My version of Na No Wri Mo

  1. Go Linda! Writing is one of the world’s best treats. Good for you for giving yourself the space. Keep it sacred. Hugs, M

    • In anticipation of October 1st and my start day, I woke up at 3:30 a.m. Did write over 800 words but no judments on the quality. Never could go back to sleep……….zzzzzzzz- I need some.

      ________________________________

  2. I am so excited to hear you are taking on this challenge! 🙂 Write on!

  3. JSD says:

    It sounds like you’ve planned this out very well. I’m looking forward to following your progress. As evident by my own lack of recent postings, I would fail miserably at this. But I have decided to challenge myself to doing at least one artistic project each day…that is where I really want get myself directed.
    Good luck! 🙂

    • I love the art and hope that you do something every day…even a small sketch to get the hand and mind observing. That practice helped me. I’ve seen some of your wonderful work! I also, see you have a new Post which I’ll be reading soon.

      ________________________________

  4. Wenona says:

    What an ambitious goal! You inspire me!

Leave a Reply

