Na No Wri: Week Two Results

Writing Journey

October 2012: Week Two Results
My version of the Na No Wri Mo novel-writing challenge (25,000 words in 30 days)

Date                           Word Count                      Comment

October 8, 2012            902 Words          Energized, some writing in scene, dialogue
October 9, 2012            776                       Continuation from the 8th
October 10, 2012          689                      Overslept, forced, tired, a struggle
October 11, 2012          969                       Better, had some rhythm
October 12, 2012          247                       No energy, busy, chaotic, overslept, unexpected
October 13, 2012         1055                     Great flow, small bit of research, in scene, dialogue
October 14, 2012          800                      Kept writing, adding more to get word count up

TOTAL WORDS         5438 Words          Week Two

Up and down, up and down, the writing mirrored my own rhythms.  I chose a story I thought would be the easiest to write because I am drawing from memory and personal experience.  However, on the 13th I wanted to add a scene that depended on research.  Something I’ve thought about but not actually performed.   And it turned out to be my greatest word count day. Research helped expand ideas but I’m limiting research at this time.  This challenge is about getting the first draft on paper.

My writing process:  Early morning is my best time to write.  Starting with a new notebook, I choose to hand write instead of type.
Pre-planning: Had a story idea; mapped out story with a list of chapter ideas; typed up notes.  Also, had four thread ideas working:  emotional, relationship conflict, secret, special.
I set up a realistic daily writing goal.

Whenever I sit at a computer my mind goes into an analyzing mode and this does not work for a first draft.  I need freedom and free flow of ideas.  My first step in the revising process will be typing.  But for now I am focusing on quantity of words, not quality.

This next week, I need to dig deeper and brainstorm for new ideas.  Also thought I could spend time writing about the setting, character descriptions, weather.  I’ve written the resolution to each thread of the story but still need a final ending.  Probably need more chapters in the middle and better set-up in the beginning.  And transitions……just need to keep writing.

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Na No Wri: Week Two Results

  1. Way to go! You are making great progress! 🙂

  2. JSD says:

    It makes me realize just how much work goes into writing a novel. Whew! I think I’ll stick with a pen or a paintbrush. 🙂

    • Hey, I recognize how much goes into a drawing or painting. The writing of a novel uses other parts of the brain and there’s a learning curve but I’m glad I focused on art before the writing.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

