Na No Wri: Week 4 Results

Week 1:  5906 Words
Week 2:  5438
Week 3:  5445

The long stretch into Week 4 of my version of the Na No Wri challenge…
My goal:  25,000 words in 30 days + 1.

WEEK 4 results:

Date                         Word Count                        Comment

October 22, 2012      918 Words          Some research with writing, building details.
October 23, 2012      833                      Need action/ suspense; began to build new scene.
October 24, 2012      893                      Research stimulates ideas; wrote & expanded ideas.
October 25, 2012      719                       Wrote a possible beginning; some more research.
October 26, 2012     1022                     Flow,sense of adventure,suspense,cliffhanger-maybe.
October 27, 2012       873                      Dialogue, suspense;new direction or new story?
October 28, 2012     _865_____        Some story, mostly diary journal memories.        Week Four Total:    6123 Words         Glad I kept with this challenge…..more rhythm!

TOTAL TO DATE:            22,912 WORDS

Only three days left in October and the end of this challenge is in sight.  I need to write 2088 more words to reach goal.

I’ll admit I am looking forward to the end of the month.  Don’t get me wrong, I needed this challenge, to get ideas swimming in my head to paper, to prove to myself I could do this.

But, I’ve paid a price.  I’ve given up sleep for writing.  I’ve let household things pile up. I’ve been late to work.  Exercise has been nil.  The extra hours of sitting and bending over a notebook has sent shooting pains to my neck. AND, my novel draft screams for major edits and rewrites.  SO, the work isn’t over.  FOR NOW, I will put the novel aside, in a drawer or on a shelf or under my bed (doesn’t matter), and there it will sit until some future date.  BUT, I will have moments of pride that I fulfilled a commitment to myself.

Some insight.  This novel is actually the back-story, stand-alone novel, of one of the characters that showed up this past summer in a completely different novel I’ve been plotting for several years.

Good writing depends on craftsmanship, but there’s mystery and surprise in the writing process.

Enjoy!

 

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Na No Wri: Week 4 Results

  1. Marilyn Scott-Waters says:

    Well done, ma’am, well done!

  2. robin says:

    I bow to you, Linda, and ditto Marilyn’s comment, “Well done!”
    Aches and pains and sleepless nights didn’t keep you from your goal and now you
    are nearing the finishing line. Cheers and fanfare!!!

  3. Don’t worry about those edits and rewrites! Just keep writing! 🙂

  4. megtraveling says:

    Nice going – you can catch up on things later!

  5. Glad to see you’ve almost reached your goal. You should be proud of yourself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

