Exercise for Health: New Goal

My writing challenge has led me to a new challenge, one I’ve resisted with so many other interesting things to do, but the time is NOW to MOVE MORE for health.  Pain is a cannot-ignore motivator.

My son’s dog, Drake, weighs about twenty-five pounds.  He’s a powerhouse of muscle but holding him, feeling the strain on my arms and shoulders, feeling how I plant my feet to carry that extra weight, makes twenty-five extra pounds feel like a hundred.

I’ll admit it, I have twenty-five pounds to lose.  I have twenty-five extra pounds putting stress on all my joints and on my heart.  I have twenty-five pounds of padding that doesn’t need to be there.

So what am I going to do about it?  There is a connection to all that I have tried to accomplish this year with the organization (remember Tower of Boxes), the memory writing (remember  Fleshfruit exercises), finishing the old (remember Unfinished Projects), and the latest (remember my novel-writing challenge).  This year has been a year of reflection, of re-evaluation, of letting go, and of setting myself up for new challenges.

Exercise more:  This week I’ve walked my hilly neighborhood several times at 6 a.m.  With Thanksgiving coming, I’ve put more energy into housecleaning.  I do stairs daily.  At work, I walk around my building once a day.   Of all that I have mentioned, if I’m completely honest with myself,  it is the 6 a.m. walks that will achieve results.

My goal this week:
1.  Three  6 a.m. walks of the neighborhood.          (Time: 30 minute walk, Joy: Sunrise Sky)
2.  Two, get-up-from-desk, walks around building per day.      (less than 10 minutes each)

Consistency is what I am looking for this week, setting a schedule and sticking to it.  I’ve also signed up for Weight Watchers, again, to keep myself accountable and focus on sensible eating habits.

A Fleshfruit writing exercise that I found helpful:  Write about your attitudes towards food, meals, cooking….dig deep into family attitudes, emotional eating, habits, resentments etc.

Here’s a reminder to find the FIGHT-CAT in me, in you, and accomplish this goal, any goal.

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Exercise for Health: New Goal

  1. Wenona says:

    Setting specific goals to keep us on track is essential. You’ve set up a great plan, Linda. I love your fighting cat painting. I need to tap into my fighting cat, too!

  2. catherine says:

    Whoohoo!! Toby cat! Tuesday/Thursday Norman and I will walk with you! Xoxox

  3. Reminds me of MY cat when he sees the neighbor kids crossing our yard! lol

    Glad you have goals that will help you achieve a better lifestyle, better health and better habits. 🙂

  4. robin says:

    HISS–MEOWWWW!!!! I love fight-cat and your fighting spirit, Linda!!
    Cheering you on!!

  5. It’s amazing how much a little walk can do. I walk to work every morning and I love the rush of energy it gives me. Trust me, you’re going to feel great! 🙂

  6. Marilyn Scott-Waters says:

    You are an inspiration! Go you!

  7. JSD says:

    Though my brain knows I have to keep moving, I tend to just keep the excuses coming for not getting out there and walking…I’m tired, my arthritis is flaring, it’s dark outside, yaddah, yaddah, yaddah. No more…Thanks for the inspiration!!!

    • Hey, I have all those excuses too and we’ve been getting rain in the morning…although I could walk with an umbrella…I only walked one day last week but maybe more next week. This is not a goal that I can accomplish in a month….

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

