Finding Magic in Your Life

Roald Dahl had this to say about magic:
“Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.”

Blowing a dream?” Sophie said.  “What do you mean?”
“I is a dream-blowing giant,” the BFG said.  “When all the other giants is galloping off every what way and which to swollop human beans, I is scuddling away to other places to blow dreams into the bedrooms of sleeping children.  Nice dreams.  Lovely golden dreams.  Dreams that is giving the dreamers  a happy time.”
(From The BFG by Roald Dahl)

One of my goals of 2012 was to create a studio workplace that would send my muse and I on mystical, magical journeys of creative wanderings….AND my space is part way there.

Yes, a work in progress, but much closer than a year ago.  I still have piles of books, of papers, of projects but there are now fanciful items of wonder and enjoyment in every direction.  I will share photos soon.

I want to feel magic, see magic, write and make magic and I have gathered from all corners of my house those items that give me that feeling of awe and wonder.  And as I gather positive items to me, I weed out those items that DON’T.

“Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it.
Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it. Begin it now.”
~Goethe

And an illustration By Linda Ruddy  “The Enchantment”

Dancing Dolls

Dancing Dolls

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Dolls and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Finding Magic in Your Life

  1. JSD says:

    Love the words and the illustration! 🙂

  2. Having a space in which to create is truly magical. 🙂 I hope your studio will be finished soon so you can create even more incredible work.

  3. marilynscottwaters says:

    I agree! Make space so magic can happen. We did a Great Tidy over Xmas break. It feels so good to not have to fight to get something out of the cupboard.

    Love the toys! 🙂 Hugs,M

    • I always felt you had magic space…and that enchanted garden out front with the pond!! Very cool. But, know what you mean about fighting the cupboards!!

      ________________________________

  4. tbnranch says:

    I’ve spent the last two days creating my creative space! 🙂

  5. Cindy says:

    Love the Dancing Dolls pic –that is magical. Yes, I agree a little (or lot) of magic in life is very desirable, thus the allure of Harry Potter! Linda, I admire you for creating your own magic–Bravo!

    • Often when I use the word magic, I am thinking AWE and WONDER! Those things or activities or moments that give me that stop-and-really-absorb Awe and Wonder. Of course, there’s the Harry Potter magic and world of fantasy too……… Thanks for commenting!

      ________________________________

  6. Wenona says:

    I love the whimsy and magic you have created in your special space at home. It inspires me to do likewise. The energy from the unique items you have gathered there is joyful and ubiquitous. You have also captured something very magical in The Enchantment. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

