New Year Musings and Goals

Sketch Book designs

2013, 2013, 2013…..I feel excited about the New Year.  New possibilities, new directions, new goals: what does life have in store for me in 2013, where will my muse lead me in 2013: when, how, why and most importantly What IF?

Today I have reread my journal from last year.  Many of those notes became blog posts, some became polished pieces of writing; some saved for the future.

In my mind, 2012 stands out in three positive ways.

  1. Organizing;
  2. Experiments in Writing;
  3. Dolls.

Highlights:
In the Organization Category, I threw away, gave away, recycled away things from my home.  There was no question in my mind that if I was going to move forward I needed to let go.  The oldest paper items trashed consisted of notebooks from a class I attended more than thirty years ago.  That should give you an idea of what I was up against.  It is amazing how much accumulation there is when a person has closets, drawers, and a garage.  And if you are the kind of person who says to yourself, “I might need that some day”, then the situation grows to gargantuan proportions.  I won’t bore you with any more of these details.

The most interesting part of the organizing evolved during the summer.  I began to organize my childhood life on paper:  time line of all the places I had lived with a list of ages and grades and schools.  Then I filled in the blanks with as many memories I could remember: good or bad or indifferent.  Lists of pets, favorite books, adventures, emotional moments, religious events, vacations, family, re-locations, friends, teachers, mishaps, holidays, relatives; I struggled to bring memories to the surface; to the surface for a particular reason.

Writing Category:
I experimented with writing as I wrote my blogs this year: sarcasm, travel, novel.

I explored my memory banks because I was looking for the voice of a child character for my story AND sad-to-say I couldn’t feel what it was really like to be a child anymore.  My personal quest was to find my childhood voice.  I actually found several voices depending on my age.  The voice of wonder spoke loudest at ages 5-6-7ish.  An angry voice at ages 13-14-15ish.

I focused my memory searches on the voice of wonder because that voice represented joy.    A new character entered the novel I’d been building for a few years (with more research than actual writing) and that character was a six or seven-year old girl and the NaNoWri novel I wrote in October 2012 is actually that girl’s back story, a completely different novel than the one I had worked on.  Hope that makes sense!

Doll Category:
I wrote a blog Post,  Doll Memories, and mentioned that dolls have been a re-occurring thread in my life.  Maybe its beginning to make sense why dolls resurfaced this year as a symbol of childhood wonder and joy.

Organizing, Writing, and Doll Making will all continue as goals in 2013.

Sketch Book designs 2

Wonder…magic…awe…immense!  I want to capture those abstracts in my novel.

Update:  about my NaNoWri novel.  I am typing my handwritten draft and have about half of my notes completed.  Once I have a typed draft I’ll be making marks with the RED PEN and I’ll be rearranging the chapters for better flow.  Then the real editing will begin.  More updates to follows.

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Year Musings and Goals

  1. Marilyn Scott-Waters says:

    High five for getting stuff done! I know cleaning and getting rid of stuff can be draining for artists. Perhaps it is because we have ideas and dwell in possibilities. Here’s to a creative 2013! M

    • I’m going to call this stage: Pulling it all together! Because that’s what I’m doing. Ideas I’ve been fostering for years are beginning to bloom. Watch out world!

      ________________________________

  2. You’ve been very busy! 🙂 Kudos for handwriting your novel – I tried that once and could not do it!

    • I had to handwrite so I wouldn’t analize, which is what I tend to do at the computer. I’m very excited about this project. Definitely the greatest leap I have taken so far in the world of writing. Where will this lead? What if? Yes, I’m curious to see where this leads and what I can accomplish.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

