Stages of Fear

Note:  Do you know how many nuances there are to the emotion FEAR?

July 2012:  Stating the obvious, I am a hands-on person.   As my learning style and path to understanding, I make things, arrange things, organize things.   Writing lists is another of the things I do.  With emotions, the lists come after the cause of the strong feelings.  Recently, I felt FEAR and this list of stages came while I was sitting in the hospital’s surgery waiting room.   Here’s the Five Stages of Fear I experienced in the weeks leading up to this surgery:  Anxiety, anger, helplessness, resolve, trust.

Note:  I wrote those words back in July 2012.  The surgery then was pulmonary.   That Post was saved as a draft which I didn’t finish.  Now, I am adding more to it.

January 2013:  Now, I’m facing fear again.  Another surgery and another long wait, maybe five hours.  This time: open heart surgery.   My family member’s medical history would absolutely shock you.

Fear is an interesting emotion.  I’ve experienced many nuances, or ever so slight differences, in this emotion over the years.  There was the time I felt the panicked fear of a young mother who had lost a child.  My son was only gone for 15 minutes, hiding in the circular clothes rack, but long enough for the panic.  Remember my train adventure last year, well I felt fear of the unknown mingled with excitement. The excitement overrode the fear.

I do need to write at length about past fears,  but the surgery is looming in a few days.  Right now, I’m scared.  But I am also numb, maybe resigned, maybe accepting.  It may be the end or it may be the beginning.

How to conquer fear?  Be informed.  Be prepared. Be aware.  Accept support.  Keep busy.  Calm down and breathe.  Remember to eat.  Remember to drink water.   Make lists.  Recognize the fear.  Maybe pray.

Sketch pot and colorsThink happy thoughts!

 

 

 

Sketch birds iris

 

Think positive results!

 

 

Tulips OrangeLook at the beauty of the world, right outside my door….Pray, yes, pray!

 

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Stages of Fear

  1. My thoughts and prayers are with you. You’ve devised wonderful ways of dealing with fear – they are beautiful words of wisdom.

  2. Marilyn Scott-Waters says:

    Linda, awesome you! Looking forward to sketching in San Juan Capistrano as soon as you feel better. Sending my best thoughts your way big hugs, Marilyn.

  3. Thinking of you and looking forward to your post on the other side xxx

  4. robin says:

    Linda, thank you for sharing. I’m thinking positive thoughts and sending prayers your way at this very moment.

  5. wow amiga.. i am so sorry that you are going thru this. may this soon be behind you and you find your way to good health again.

    lisa

Leave a Reply

