Range of Emotion

This is another mini update to my last entry:  still in ICU but getting stronger.

I won’t write much but I want to thank those who left comments and hit the button.  I haven’t been able to respond or to read others’ blogs.

My family member had surgery on the last day of January and has been fighting to live and for strength to breathe.  Even though he couldn’t speak he would give us the thumbs-up sign, even as he was getting weaker and weaker.

Among all the complications, I struggled to keep my emotions in check, and my mind clear.  Not so easy in times of great stress.  I felt stomach flutters, and heart palpitations, and chest pressure, and head aches.  Sometimes at the end of the day, my throat would clog with emotions and my eyes would sting.

What does it mean to be human?  And what about the will to live?  And what about the range of emotions one feels, both positive and negative?

I rediscovered an artist this week, Kathe Kollwitz (1867-1945), when I picked a book off my shelf titled: Voicing Our Vision: Writings by Women Artists.    Sometimes art visualizes what I am feeling inside, better than words, but I did read her words.  Images of her art were already in my mind from the past.

Kathe Kollwitz 2Her art goes to dark places, places of deep emotion.

KollwitzBut she captured youth also, although still melancholy.  I feel it.

kathe kollwitz 1But this is not the end of my story.  In this day of modern medicine, coupled with a strong will to survive, my husband will live.  At the hospital, the nurse gave us a board with the alphabet and my husband pointed out short messages to us, one letter at a time.  His first messages was:

Tomorrow is a new day!

Photo Sunflow 5

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Range of Emotion

  1. robin says:

    Linda, your entry, the power of your words and what you are going through, the artist’s capturing of those dark places, and your husband’s determination brought tears to my eyes. Viktor Frankl’s book, Man’s Search For Meaning is inspirational and helped to get me through a dark time.

  2. “tomorrow is a new day.” what a strong, positive and wise person he is!

    i hope that with each day, his health improves.

  3. Cindy says:

    May God carry Ray, you, and your family through this passage. I’m thinking of you and Ray daily and know he has a lot of love and caring to help him pull through. All your range of emotions are completely understandable; as Freud said, “Nothing human is alien to me.”

  4. JSD says:

    Yes, tomorrow is a new day…and, hopefully, a better day! My prayers are with you both.

  5. Wenona says:

    Beautifully written, Linda. You are an artist with the brush and the pen. I continue to send love and prayers for you, Ray and your entire family.

  6. Sending love and hope your way.

  7. such vibrancy and promise in that sunflower. I hope tomorrow brings more words, and more hope xxx

  8. marilynscottwaters says:

    Oh my friend, burning a bright candle for you. Warm hugs, M

Leave a Reply

