April: Blog Anniversary

 Sketch Take Joy              Wow!  Two year anniversary for Wings of Wonder: creative journey, artistic outlet, communal sharing.  I was accurate and right on by describing myself as “a creative”.  My drive and interests move around from painting, to writing, to doll-making, wherever my muse will lead me.

Some of my favorite Posts were during the first year, my JOY year. Sketch Close Up Birds-Fairy Remember all those “Sketch Joy” and “Sketch Play” watercolors?  It was also my daughter’s wedding year.  Feeling the exhilaration and aliveness of Joy energy, every day, was new to me.    Blogging represented a leap of faith, something I saw others making, and I finally I was ready.    This contrasted with my usual serious-and-weighted life mode.  Anyway, I honor that joy came into my life.  I wanted JOY.

And I miss the Joy!  But, then came my year of needing to organize and get rid of, and unload some of the weight by trashing, re-purposing, and giving away.  This included books and ideas and papers.  Instead of rippling outward, my life and creative drive demanded that I begin to ripple inward.  Bringing ideas into clearer focus, making room for new ideas to blossom, these were the underlying purposes to my year(s) of reducing clutter.

And then came January of 2013 and the greatest challenge of my life and my husband’s life.  For privacy reasons I will not give details but I will say that the worse of it lasted 28 days plus another 15 days before he came home.      There is a quote by someone “whatever doesn’t kill you will make you stronger.”  We are both working on that.

Doll 1    One creative interest, rekindled last year, involved doll-making.  You can read more at this post Muse, where are you taking me?      During a time of crisis all the little things one does to relieve stress become monumental.  My days were long with extra duties at work and home and extra drives to hospital.  One stress reliever involved this doll and it seems so silly but the action gave me a chuckle at the end of my day, so, HEY, give me a break.  The action: after making my bed in the a.m., I’d place this doll on my pillow and there she’d be in the p.m. waiting to give me a tiny moment of childlike joy before going to bed. Joy before bed?  In the midst of a crisis? Okay, my muse works in ways that are wondrous and strange.

Another life saver was this movie:  You’ve Got Mail with Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks. A staff woman at the hospital lent me this movies andYou ve Got Mail it turned out to be a major stress reliever with light-hearted energy.  Meg Ryan’s character is an independent children’s bookstore owner whose business is in trouble. I repeatedly put this movie on because I’d fall into an exhausted sleep on the couch and it took awhile before I saw the whole thing.

Somehow I’ve managed to get off the topic of my Blog Anniversary.  I’m at the beginning of a new year.    Maybe my muse is preparing me for more painting of a light-hearted kind.  And there will be more writing.  And health is top at the list.  And more small adventures to keep me inspired by life.

I’ve got fight left in me.  And I’ve got creative drive left in me.  And time is ticking, but each day I will find the time.

Find the time!

 

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to April: Blog Anniversary

  1. marilynscottwaters says:

    Your blog has given me much joy. I always look forward to reading it and seeing what magical path your muse has lead you down. I’m glad that your hubby is home and you are making the time to be creative. More please! Marilyn

  2. robin says:

    You are such an inspiration, Linda, in every way. I love your doll and the joy she gives to you!
    Can’t wait to see what creative endeavors you share with us on your blog in the coming year.
    And may it be a wonderful year!

    • Thanks! I think I know where I’m heading, I set goals and make plans, but then I zig in a different direction. I think I like the unexpected and also go with it.

      ________________________________

  3. Happy Blogaversary! 🙂 I’ve enjoyed your posts so much and I’m looking forward to many more.

  4. Cat says:

    Happy anniversary!!2 years…wow what an amazing accomplishment. I love your blog and am excited to see many creative and joyful projects this year from you and your muse 🙂 L O v E

  5. I am just finding your lovely blog, but wish you a happy anniversary and hope you are around for many more years!

  6. JSD says:

    We’re with you and looking for another great year. 🙂

  7. Happy blog anniversary! May the next year be filled with creativity and good health to you and those around you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

