Creative Leap Year-ss – Painting Journey

Abstract 93-94 Mother-ChildLR mother child card(FYI:  Began this Post in December 2013 and now it’s January 2014)  (FYI:  I tend to reflect backwards in the month of December – looking back over the year and looking back over my life’s journey)

(FYI: I enjoy writing about my creative journey and this is only a part of the whole, but this core is what keeps me strong and centered and keeps me dreaming, hoping, wishing.

Let’s talk about a creative leap: from realism to abstract.  Two paintings with the same subject, mother and child, but so very different, one painted in 1993 and the other in 1994. I know I’m stating the obvious, however, what you can’t see is the interior growth that was taking place as I experimented and struggled on my personal quest for self-discovery.
I went from NOT liking Picasso to finding Picasso’s work fascinating and inspiring.  My world was expanding back then and kept expanding, my mind was a sponge.  Painting recorded my journey.

December 2013, last month of the year, and I am looking back, reflecting on the past.  I don’t want to spend too much time looking back.  Life is really about the present moment and living that/those moments to the fullest.

But I am looking back and here’s a bit more of my creative journey:

Celebration of Color 2001

LR Ruddy 2-Digital for Native Land

Riding a White Bear by L. Ruddy

On the Beach - "Journey of the Horses"

On the Beach – “Journey of the Horses”

Peonies in Bloom

Peonies in Bloom

3rd-geese-header.jpg Celebration of Color – This style began in 1997 flourished into my first solo show in 2001 and then variations of my woman’s theme were published in 2010.  See Published 2010.   There were other styles, other creative leaps, some heavy and dark, which I am not sharing in this post.  Those painting became my second solo art show, A Flight to Freedon–An Art Tale about Rebirth.  In my creative journey, story and art were merging.

Then around 2000, I became a member of SCBWI for children’s writers & illustrators.

I searched for my child’s voice, but I always had an older voice.  I was working on the art and story for Journey of the Horses around  2005 and did this girl on a bear around the same time.  Both of these paintings tell a story and also have a painterly style.

Around 2009 I started doing little watercolors  of flowers and every day objects.  I wanted JOY ENERGY and I found it in these little paintings.   Having a stack of these small paintings helped me make the creative leap when I began my blog in 2011.

That was a creative leap.  There have been many creative leaps over the years and I am ready for a new one, but my energy is very bogged down at this time.  Getting rid of clutter is helping.  Getting rid of old ideas is helping.    Setting goals helps.    My creative life is at my core and I try to keep a spark, sheltered inside, so that it won’t go out.   This spark keeps me dreaming even though it is surrounded by many dark shadows.  Yes, a light at the end of the tunnel.  Never, never give up.

Happy New Year!

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Art, Illustrations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Creative Leap Year-ss – Painting Journey

  1. Happy New Year to you! Thank you for sharing the journey of your creative soul, it is beautiful and inspiring.

  2. marilynscottwaters says:

    It has been wonderful to see you blossom and grow. I love your art. It makes me happy to look at it. Hugs, M

  3. How wonderful to see your timeline of creativity! I can’t wait to see what your next chapter holds. 🙂

    • IPreparing for writing but haven’t had the brain power to focus, so just keeping a record of plot ideas…art was that way…and then when a window of time opened something, a painting, would come out. Does that make sense? I want to see my story, novel, bloom.

  4. JSD says:

    I absolutely love your art work!!! Thanks for sharing your journey with us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

