Artist Play Date – Roger’s Gardens

Marilyn 2eFebruary 22, 2014 – Roger’s Garden “A Day of Art”, a nursery in Corona Del Mar, CA.

My friend, Marilyn, invited me to participate in an artists’ open-air event where 50 artists would paint on location, outside in the beautiful and peaceful gardens.   I felt excitement like I haven’t felt in years, so, of course, I said an emphatic YES!

And WOW! We were in a profusion of colorful flowers with other people who shared the same passion, and lots of friendly visitors stopping to observe the progress.  What else: old-fashioned white-wood gazebos, meandering trails, water fountains, water fall, and a daffodil festival.  This gives you a sense of the setting.

Now, I haven’t painted outside, let along painted in oils outside, in years.
Planning:  First, what paint supplies to take, what to pack, how to get from car to gardens…all the logistics.  Sunscreen, sun hat, thermos of hot tea, lunch, directions….camara, apron, sweater.  I would be gone from 8:15 a.m. to 3 p.m.

And I did arrive on time and Marilyn and I set up in the gazebos where we would have shade.  The day was supposed to be warm…and it was warm when the sun came out from behind the clouds, but got cold when hidden.  So, I was very glad I had that thermos of tea.  And just to set the scene some more, I brought two china teacups for us to use.  Nice!

Here’s the results of the day:

By LindaGirls in Garden 1

My intent:  girls in the garden, impressionist style, nostalgic, pastel, loose strokes, texture.   This sketch may be finished or I may go back in and reinforce some details.  Not sure yet.

By Marilyn:  Marilyn 3e

As a thank-you, here’s a mini bio.
Marilyn Scott-Waters is a children’s book illustrator, writer, paper wizard, and much more.  I’m always inspired!  She has at least six books published and several more in progress.  Visitors from around the world receive her monthly newsletter and free paper toys.  If you are looking for fun activities, creative inspiration, or special gifts visit Marilyn at her website.  ( http://www.thetoymaker.com ).  Another by Marilyn:

Marilyn 1eThe day was a delight to my soul!  An artist’s play date was just what the doctor ordered and I enjoyed every moment.  And I’m inspired to start painting again!

P.S. the thumbnail art at the beginning is another by Marilyn.  She really let herself play and experiment.  Enjoy!

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Artist Play Date – Roger’s Gardens

  1. Wenona says:

    Creative flow with a friend in nature. What a healthy combination. I’m so glad you had such an enjoyable and inspiring time!!!!!

  2. marilynscottwaters says:

    Thanks again for the tea! It was a good day. 🙂

  3. Your painting is so beautiful. I’m awe of painters like you! 🙂

  4. Lucia Raphael says:

    Simply splendid! What a joy to see your posts. Seeing art from other perspectives is very rewarding and mind expanding. ( :

    • Hi Lucia, Nice to hear from you.  Hope your life has got some joy.  Roger’s Gardens is a lovely place to paint and I feel new movement in me to paint again, simply for the joy of it!  

  5. catherine says:

    Just lovely all of it, the day and the art. Makes me dream of spring and all its blossoming glory!

  6. JSD says:

    Sounds like a great day…love the picture.

Leave a Reply

