On the Cusp of Change

LR Study of Boy with a Dove by PicassoMaybe as humans we’re always changing, but sometimes it stands out and you know you’re on that roller coaster and not sure when or how you will get off.  Last year while I was pre-occupied by all the medical after medical after medical, my business world was going tech, tech, tech and my brain was rebelling to change and struggling to adapt.

So, after major changes in relationships and workload and business skills, changes that crashed me into 2014, my barometer of sanity told me I needed to focus on my creative life and I’ve exploded these past three to four months.  I’ve thought about painting again, and about craft fairs and about an Etsy shop which have all given purpose to my ideas and I have been busy building a warehouse of ideas.  I’m not ready to share but will some day.  And I might begin a new blog or website as I create a world.

Now for the GREAT news:  I am the proud grandmother of a new grandson who weighs over nine pounds and has a full head of hair and is perfect with all his fingers and toes and a little nose and I got to hold him yesterday which brought joy to my heart and the parents are so proud after their very long ordeal bringing this new life into the world.  And here is another major life change unfolding….those baby noises were music to my ears.

I have no pictures of the baby to share yet, but will.
Here’s some flowers for my daughter and son-in-law:Pink RoseRosa DelightBox mums and peony

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Change, adapt, change, adapt, just like that new baby coming out of the womb, I’ve done my share of yelling this past year as life has forced change, after change, after change on me.  But I have adapted and I’m at a new level of determination and drive and self-respect.

This seems an appropriate time to share another print from my inspiration wall, a print that inspired my art work and art show from the early 21st century (had to say that), around the year 2002 which I’ve mentioned in past posts.  Here’s the print:

Manao Tupapao by Paul Gauguin:Paul Gauguin - Manao Tupapao

 

 

 

And since this seems the right time to share this subject, a birth, here’s the
postcard from my solo art show “A Flight to Freedom: an Art Tale About Rebirth” story and paintings by Linda R. Ruddy, March 2002.

Flight To Freedom postcardpostcard Flight to Freedom

 

 

 

 

Now I have shared the full range of my creative life to date.    I consider this art show my most potent and powerful work and at that time, I thought this was my opus, my swan song, and that there would be no others.
But after my rebirth, there came a flowering beginning with Journey of the Horses , and in the future I will complete the life cycle with art and writing on the subject of death.  But, the focus now is on life and living and believing and reaching, reaching, reaching.
Embrace your life NOW!  Sending hugs into the world.  LR

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to On the Cusp of Change

  1. robin says:

    Linda, you share such wisdom. Yes, what a process, this changing and adapting, growing and integrating, then changing and growing some more! Thank you for sharing your powerful painting from “Flight to Freedom.” Congratulations on your new grandson. Hurray! Ah, Life!

  2. megtraveling says:

    Best wishes and congratulations on the new grandson Linda!

  3. Congrats on the new grandson! 🙂

    I love how you are following your muse. Let the creativity flow and everything else just falls into place. 🙂

  4. JSD says:

    Oh, I am so far behind in reading that I am just now wishing you and the new baby the best. Grandkids are such a treasure. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

