From Order Comes Potential

Tile Design 2Right now, my house is a place of disorder.   Boxes in every room. Piles of objects mentally labeled to keep, trash, donate, sell.

I am craving simplicity and that means making decisions and letting go.  It means keeping the flow out the door.  It means emptying closets and drawers.

It means going through paperwork – YUK!  This is my least favorite job – how many years to keep tax related papers?  Will I need that in the future?  What is this?

And what to do with photos?  All those cherished moments of childhood.  All those celebrations.  All those past memories.  Key word here is PAST.

Thinking about the future.  I’ve got to make room in my mind and spirit for new memories and new challenges.  There’s been a shift in my universe and I’m figuring out my new course.  Any advice out there?

Tile Design 1

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to From Order Comes Potential

  1. robin says:

    Try to envision the space you want to create for yourself, that place of magic and joy that says, “Here I am!”

  2. Catherine says:

    Just keep on keepin’ on.

  3. Lynne says:

    Proud of you, Linda. Your forward direction is the healthiest, positive direction… Your family and friends are walking beside you. We are here for support when you need it, and encouraging your journey. Remember to enjoy TODAY as well… Love you!

  4. I did a major clean out of my bookshelf this morning. It felt great, but it was so hard to decide what to keep and what to clear out. In the end it’s all about making room for the things that matter the most in the here and now. 🙂

  5. marilynscottwaters says:

    Start small in one area, someplace you spend a lot of time. Put a trashbag or box in each room and fill it with things to give away.

    I can talk your ear off about this subject, so give me a call if you want. Hugs, M

  6. Cindy says:

    Linda, you are on the right track; just keep it up, but enjoy each step. Be patient with yourself – now is the time to notice and allow. I was thinking about having all my pictures put on a DVD when i received a notice from a company that does just that! Again, i haven’t moved on it yet, but i think it’s a good idea! You’re a good soul and spirit and i admire you. Love u, Cindy

    • Cindy – thanks for the encouragement.  This weeks it’s been old letters.  I’ve also been scanning research and putting onto CD just in case I ever go back to this or that project.  Right now I feel like I will never go back, but I don’t want to regret throwing things away.  Scanning photos is a great idea!!

  7. JSD says:

    I have no good suggestions, but…when you’ve figured it out, please let the rest of us know how you did. I need to do the same thing. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

