What does it mean to “Downsize”?

Orchids white on blue What does downsizing mean to you?  House to apartment or mobile home or car, two bedroom to one bedroom or studio;  3000 square feet to 1000 square feet or less; living on your own to shared living, or visa-versa.

Maybe it’s the move to minimalism.  Smaller?  Less? Got to lower expenses?  Retired?  New job?  Relationship changes?

I have it in my mind that I needed to downsize,  and that may be the most practical thing I do.  It makes sense.  I’m on that journey and maybe it started way back with the clutter clearing.  But everything’s been kicked up a notch or three or five.

Clutter-clearing involved: give-away, throw-away, sell or trash, small stuff.
Next notch involved selling  a few bigger items, emptying cupboards…
Then another notch: turning it over to the professionals and staging an Estate Sale.
(I think of an Estate Sale as a garage sale for dealers who are buying for their shops)
Then, with what’s left over from the Estate Sale time to have one or more garage sales.
(Not a big money maker, but I met some neighbors for the first time)
Then when you know where you are going to downsize to: call in the liquidators.
(I’m not to the liquidator stage yet.)

I’m writing about this without emotion, BUT, in reality I’m letting go of parts of my life and this is a huge emotional journey and I go up and then I go down and I’ve put things in the “to go” pile and then taken them off.  I’ve let things go and then had a tinge of regret.  It’s all part of this journey.  I’m keeping a journal (YES helps), and I keep a yellow notepad near me in the night, in case I wake up and need to write out my thoughts, for the next “to do” lists.   Old life…new life:  I’m caught in the transition.

One other thing I am doing: I signed up for some art classes and I am painting once a week, and this is my lifeline.  I’ll try and share some new work next post.

Peonies with White Flower

Peonies with White Flower

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What does it mean to “Downsize”?

  1. marilynscottwaters says:

    A book that I just read that has really helped me in my desire to create more space is “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing” by Marie Kondo. She give a lot of interesting tips on how to not only downsize your possessions but also how to decide what stays and what goes. Her motto is that things should “Spark Joy” (Who does that sound like?) 🙂

  2. We just did some downsizing recently. It’s never easy letting things go (especially when some of them are tied to wonderful memories), but the sense of feeling lighter once you’ve let go is quite healing.

    • I definitely feel lighter and more energized.  I still have a closet of old photos and childhood art and projects for each of my children.  But I want more room in my mind and in my life, so it continues.

  3. JSD says:

    It sounds very scary.

    • Maybe a little bit scary, but I’m learning tons.  I stay focused on the idea of reinventing myself, that change provides new opportunities.  I’m handling things I never thought I would or could.   

Leave a Reply

