Art Lesson: Fore-Middle-Back

LR Study Fore-Middle-BackWhen painting a landscape you want to think of the space divided into foreground, middle ground, and background.

In my example above, the background is airy and atmospheric with blues and purples to gain the sense of distance.  Blues and purples are cool colors and they recede away from the viewer.  Also, notice the background consists of large shapes with little detail.  Think mountains and sky.

In the middle ground, the shapes are smaller and one gets the impression of masses of trees and maybe a building placed among them.  And there are some rolling hills.  The colors of greens, golds and reds are muted.  Again, the effects of aerial  or atmospheric perspective.

The foreground in my example has the most color and the most detail.  The tree stands tall.  The colors are warmer.  Individual leaves stand out.

Enjoy!

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative with a diverse range of interests in writing and painting. She currently is revising a middle grade novel, and author and illustrating a picture story book. She is an active member of SCBWI, Society of Children Book Writers and Illustrators. Linda has a body of paintings, which form the foundation of her artistic development. This work can be viewed on her website: www.lindaruddyart.com Her recent illustrations are an outgrowth of the style she developed in these paintings. Another passion is sculpture. Linda often uses her figures as models for her art. Linda's blog is eclectic and journeys wherever her muse guides her attention. Her blog address is: www.wingsofwonder.wordpress.com Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Art, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Art Lesson: Fore-Middle-Back

  1. Shannon says:

    I love this! If I’m not taking classes or surrounding myself around other artists I tend to forget some of the techniques I’ve learned. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

  2. Oh, I just love this! I love the division – it really gives this a unique look. 🙂

  3. marilynscottwaters says:

    I like this. I like this A LOT!!! Very nice, Linda.. More please.

    • Going to the simplist level, this is a study I did while watching a “How To” art video from the library. I’ve done landscapes since those baby steps….but good to remember the basics.

      ________________________________

  4. JSD says:

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a comment