2016 Year of Changes

Esalon Big Sur 2015 2016: What a roller coaster ride!!

This has been a year of changes:  New home, new work experiences, new social, two more grandchildren (I now have four).  A year of lots of “firsts” and making solo decisions.  It’s been a year of more exercise.  A year of re-discovering my own identity.

This has been a year of writing in a journal, basically a daily log of what I have to do or what I did do or what I want to do, or will do in the future.  The wonderful thing about writing, is that once in a while there is a gem of insight.

I’ve been re-reading my journal and found that forgiveness was one thread that I re-visited during this year.  In order to move on in one’s life, I found that I needed to put the past to rest.  All those old “hurts” had to be faced and the process always ended with forgiveness:  of someone else, of some action, and/or of myself.  Powerful healing!!!

Also in 2016, I have completed some paintings that were started several years ago.

Here’s one titled “Lantern Light” by Linda Ruddy 2016, oil sketch:

p-lr-lantern-light

Wishing you all Happy Holidays, Merry Christmas, and a very special New Year. LR

About Wings of Wonder

Linda Ruddy is a creative and she works in a variety of materials including pencils, paints, paper, porcelain and fabric. Her current projects involve hand-sewn bookbinding, children's book illustrating, and writing. In 2010, two of her paintings were published in the Saddleback College literary magazine, The Wall. In the past, she has received recognition for painting and doll making. Linda lives in California with her husband and family pet. Her new blog can be found at:www.wingsofwonder.worpress.com Please visit often to see how the site develops. Following the muse, Linda Ruddy
This entry was posted in Art, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2016 Year of Changes

  1. Lucia Raphael says:

    What a splendid year!! I AM TRULY happy for you!!!

  2. marilynscottwaters says:

    What a treat it was to see you to day. Let’s go plein air painting soon! Hugs and love, Marilyn.

  3. Great seeing you too! I hope we can paint at Rogers Gardens again. Happy New Year. Hugs from me.

  4. Sartenada says:

    Love the painting. All the best for 2017.

  5. Thanks! I am fascinated by your blog. Photos are amazing and inspiring!!

Leave a Reply

